Our festival

Slapstick Festival is a cultural, not-for-profit limited company. Our aim is to keep silent, visual and classic onscreen comedy alive for future generations, through raising awareness, interest and appreciation of this unique art form, developing new audiences for archive cinema, and supporting the sustainability and development of silent film organisations, through screening well-known, rare and unique archive cinema to the film going public.

The Slapstick annual festival each January (Since 2005!) gives audiences a unique and often once in a life time opportunity to see some extraordinary films in unique circumstances. We showcase and celebrate archive film predominately from the silent era (1895-1930), accompanied by live musical scores performed by world class musicians, and introduced by some of the most prominent film historians, experts, and comedians inspired by the comedy legends on screen! Combined with more recent and contemporary visual comedy film and work from neglected comedy artists from past decades, we aim to broaden our audience base, inspiring peoples interest in onscreen visual and classic comedy from over the last 100 years!

Over a Decade of Laughter

Over the past decade the festival has gone from strength to strength. Since 2005 Slapstick has presented 10 editions of the Festival in Bristol, presenting over 150 events to more than 36,000 people and introducing rare archive and silent comedy films to more and more diverse audiences. And we look set to continue for many more years to come!

Chris Daniels – Festival Director

Jacqui Ham – Development Manager

Catherine Gregory – Events Manager

Sue Lion – Events Coordinator

Guy Manchester – Digital Media Officer

Rustin Allison – Production Assistant

Paul Lippiatt – Festival Photographer

Natasha & Team @ Noisy Little Monkey – Social Media Marketing

Gemma Brooks – Stage Manager

Ewan Dunford – Technical and Projection Manager

Evans Audio Visual – Technical Team

Guenter A Buchwald – Musical Director

Louise Kelly – Designer

Martin Hammond – Hospitality

Tim Brooke-Taylor OBE

Bill Oddie OBE

Michael Palin CBE

Nick Park CBE

David Robinson

Diana Serra Cary (Baby Peggy)

David Sproxton

June Whitfield CBE

Neil Innes

Terry Jones

Graeme Garden OBE

Denise Coffey

Barry Cryer OBE

Ian Lavender

Kevin Brownlow

Marcus Brigstocke

Chris Daniels

Dr Jo Daniels

Graeme Garden OBE

David Robinson

David Sproxton CBE

Mo Sutton

Steven Coombe